Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I'm still looking for a caliber for my future third revolver. We already discussed the .44 magnum (not for me!) and the .41 magnum (almost impossible to find in Switzerland)

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Mr. Jonas,

Hello again. I have no personal experience with the .17 HMR or .17HM2, so sorry I can not help you on those two.

I have never had any of the .32 rounds you mentioned, but I can at least answer that question for you.

I checked several reloading manuals on the .32 H&R magnum. They all agree that a .32 H&R mag weapon will safely handle both the .32 S&W and the .32 S&W Long cartridges also.

According to one reloading manual the .32 H&R mag was essentially a .32 S&W Long case lengthened to allow a new round at both higher pressure and velocity.

But it would be better if folks who have these and can confirm it with personal experiences give you some feedback too. I would not expect any serious accuracy problems using the smaller cartridges, but I would think it better if someone with first hand knowledge tells you it works too.

Take care,

twoguns

G

·
The .17 rimfires and the .32 centerfires are very different cartridges with very different purposes.

The .17's are small varmint cartridges for, in a handgun, short (with open sights) to medium-range (with a 4-7X scope) small varmint shooting. For this purpose, the .17 HMR is much the superior cartridge. I have no experience with the .17 HM2 but in one article I read it didn't have the killing power on small ground squirrels that a hot .22 Long Rifle catridge did. Too small of a caliber and insufficient velocity to expand it, I think. And this was in a rifle.

They are too expensive for plinking.

I have several .32 H&R Magnums. A revolver cartridge with rather narrow applications, it does provide more flexibility.