Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I am a newbie and for the first time I am considering carrying a gun. Things are getting bad in this world. :(

·
Premium Member
2,951 Posts
Sir,

There are a few things about civilian carry/home defense that are much different from the military. I'll clarify as I address your concerns.

[quote:kl2tf1zy]

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Josh,

Thanks for the well thought out reply.

I went to the S&W website and the Model 10 seems to come only in a 4" barrel. Also, it looks very large and heavy to carry concealed in my pocket all the time. It also looks like it would really "print".

Am I going to have to compromise on "concealed" in order to get "stopping power"?

What about a flat, small auto like the Guardian .32NAA?
http://www.naaminis.com/32NAA.html
Is it not enough of a stopper? Too misfunction prone?

I get the point of your scenario! If it may take that much to stop a racoon, what might it take to stop a human 10 times that size? No telling!

You shoot to stop, not to kill. Death is a possible side-effect of a shooting-to-stop.
Yes, I agree. My choice of words was not as well thought out as your reply was.

·
Registered
46 Posts
I would agree with Josh's response re: getting a good revolver. I carry a Colt Det. Special, and it comforms very nicely for a 6 shot revolver. I think that "printing" is more a problem of holster design than the actual gun itself, for the most part. It also depends on what you want to conceal it under: a suit jacket, bulky sweater, or sweatshirt can hide just about any gun; a tight tank top won't even conceal a small 25 auto.
Automatics, while all the rage nowadays (including law enforcement), come with their own problems, i.e. mechanical safeties, jams & feed stopages, ect. I don't recommend an auto for anyone who isn't willing to train and shoot it ....A LOT!!!