Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,004 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I told you previously about the aquisition of a NIB S&W Model 15 in my post "Lemon Masterpiece" and about the problems I encountered initially. All of these are now ironed and the Masterpiece deserves the name.

Last sunday I experienced a strange failure: after a few cylinders of Magtech 158 grs FMJs, I reloaded for another serie and closed the cylinder. When I tried to pull the trigger DA, the action was frosen. I couldn't cock the hammer either.

I searched for a high primer but couldn't find. Finally I checked every six rounds in the cylinder and isolated the culprit. It had a tiny flat on the rim that extended slightly in the groove: you could see the flat but the bulge was almost unnoticeable. A few strokes with the file of the swiss army knife and the problem was solved.

That day I learned something... I'm not very experienced with wheelguns, having shot mainly autos for 15 years, but the sweet action, accuracy and gentle lines of the Combat Masterpiece is changing my mind on handguns.

Bye.

L.

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Howdy Mr. Larry,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us sir. Since you noted your experience with revolvers is growing, I will make you aware of another issue you may encounter one day. But to be honest, for me it has been rare. In 37 years of shooting revolvers professionally, I have only encountered it with one lot of ammo, which I feel was responsible. But it can happen.