Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,951 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Another thread is turning into a discussion about lasers. I figure I'll create a new one dedicated to the handgun mounted laser.

My opinion: Don't like 'em. They amplify every minute movement and I shoot worse with them than without. Slower too because I get preoccupied with trying to make the thing hold still.

Thoughts?

Josh <><

·
Registered
1,442 Posts
They sure look cool on TV, don't they?

The only reason I can see for having one is to let a BG know that he's in your sights and won't be allowed to keep doing whatever nasty thing he was doing that got you to light him up in the first place.

I've never shot with a laser, but I've played with laser equipped guns some, and I would really be concerned about over concentration on precise alignment.

·
Registered
3,359 Posts
As I previously stated, I've had some experience with laser equipped guns. Internal lasers, either guide rod or grip are better than someting slung under the dust cover. There isn't a noticeable change in the balance of the gun, and you don't need a different holster.

Earlier, I also said that in my opinion their forte is CQB point shooting, or as an option for someone who cannot use normal sight or sight normally for some reason.

That being said, yes the dot does dance around, and can be distracting. Laser users often "chase the dot" which slows down their shooting. My observation has been that if the shooter doesn't launch one as soon as the dot hits the zone he'll focus on the dot and slow down.

I also think the subject seeing the dot on himself is a hollywood exaggeration. I've noticed that unless the subject sees the laser light's shine, or its beam that he doesn't seem to be aware of the dot.

·
Registered
4,399 Posts
Hi there abinftr,

Your observations are "right on the spot as usual".