Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm planning to buy a .44 Magnum from S&W for sports shooting, it'll be my first revolver (presently I only have semi-autos), and I'd like a classic model 29 (yes, that's because of Dirty Harry, always wanted one). I checked and there's also a 629 model, very similar but with rubber grips I believe, and cheaper. Is there any other difference? Any suggestion?

Sorry if it's a silly question, but I'm new to revolvers. Regards,
Rodrigo

G

·
check S&W's websight. I seriously doubt there are any differences you'll notice shooting it, I imagine most differences are in fit and finish.

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Howdy Mr. Rodrigo,

I do think the blue on a Smith revolver makes for a very attractive appearance. But the 629 is basically the same gun in stainless steel. Given the climate of your country sir (I have spent a little time in years past working there) I personally if given the chance, would opt for the 629 for a more rust resistant finish.

Since it is cheaper than the model 29, you could use that money for more ammo and/or a holster too.

Just my opinion for what it is worth. If you do end up buying a .44 mag, please share your thoughts with us when you do. You may also find the recoil of full power loads to be different from what you are used to since all of your handguns are pistols. Some folks enjoy recoil and some do not. You will have to figure out when group you fit into.

Barrel length will also contribute to more or less felt recoil too, up to a point. If between the 29 and 629, they are essentially the same barrel lenghts, then it is primarily an issue of finish. If you think you may be recoil sensitive, and the two revolvers have different length barrels then that may also be something to consider in making your choice too.