Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All!

I'm a college student, and for an assignment, I have to identify and research this cartridge. However, I need some assistance. I've searched the internet, and know it's a .357 Magnum R-P cartridge (this is according to the headstamp) with a length of 3.9cm, but I know nothing else about it. I think it's a lead bullet in a nickel casing (But I could be wrong). Can anyone help me out in identifying it?

Thanks in advance for the help!

·
Premium Member
735 Posts
R-Pis Remington-Peters...looks like a round nosed lead 357 Magnum cartridge...

Bill

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
Well, you can research the interesting history of the .357 Magnum cartridge, the history of the Remingtom-Peters Cartridge company. You could pull the bullet to determine its weight, the weight and type of powder charge, and whether it's a factory load or a reload. If you show us the base we might be able to tell if it has a factory primer or not.

·
Registered
674 Posts
The nickel plated case looks like a Remington Express. And nasty cases at that---paper thin! The bullet is rather odd looking---the 158 grains in Rem UMC .38 Spls are more conical, IIRC, and that coating looks like wax? very strange! Can you pull the bullet and see if it's got a gas check on the caboose end?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
If the cartridge was mine, I would pull the bullet. However, I have to return it to my professor.

·
Registered
674 Posts
It could be the shadows in the photo, but the bullet seems to have quite a crimp on it, possibly because it is a very hot load(in which case I'd expect gas check) OR the bullet is sized for a 9mm (.356" IIRC) not .358" which is what a lead bullet for a .357/.38 Spl would be. Why not mike the diameter of the bullet and find out?

·
Premium Member
1,038 Posts