Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have enjoyed the threat on Popularity of Polymer and the comments on the CZ Rami and wonder what the thoughts are on the alloy framed version vs. the polymer. Also, how alloy stacks up against steel.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,359 Posts
The conventional wisdom in 'the trade' when I worked in the firearms industry was that alloy frames won't last as long as steel frames, and that the older alloy frames were not as durable as the modern alloy frames. Some of the engineer/metallurgy types believed that the polymer frames would/will become brittle, admittedly decades, down the track.

Me, personally? I own polymer, alloy, and mostly steel guns. I doubt I'm going to wear all of them any time soon.

·
Registered
156 Posts
I believe in STEEL.

And late ( read: constructed as such ) Alu framed pistols ( SIG Sauer ).

I LIKE my Glock ( 17 ). Its tough and reliable and needs less maintenance than any other gun I know of.

But the frame might "age" in the sun quicker than steel and alu ( it might corrode less that steel!!! ), so perhaps it might be sensible, to have it changed every 30 years ...

MY solution: I keep at least ONE ( that

G

·
0 Posts
I have a smith model 3913 that is 100% reliable but about 6 months ago I noticed after a range session that the inside frame near the front, looks as if it has been chewed up a bit by the steel slide. My gunsmith agreed and then acted like this was to be expected with allow frame pistols. He used the tired - carry often shot a little - line on me when it came to allow framed weapons. That, quite frankly bothers me. I want to shoot my carry gun more often than any of my other weapons. Anyway, the Smith now sits in my gun safe until I can figure out the solution to this issue.