Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,951 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ladies and Gents,

I was almost attacked by a senior citizen a couple nights ago.

I went in to see a friend of mine working in a convenience store. She's really more like an adopted sister, being the sister of my best friend, and married.

While sitting in one of the booths drinking coffee, an older guy I'm aquainted with joined me.

He started talking about his pocket knife, Bruce Lee, etc. He couldn't remember the form Lee used so I offered, "You mean Jeet Kun Do, or Wing Chung?" He started talking about real world martial arts, and being a first instructor I talked with him. He seemed genuinely interested.

Then he had a mood swing. I mean, boom, suddenly he's up out of his seat, hand in the pocket with the knife, and announcing that I wasn't going to demonstrate anything on him.

Well... I never said anything about demostrating anything to him, on him, or doing anything in public period.

I decided it was time to leave. I have a degrading knee and running is not the easiest thing in the world to do. I told my friend to call the police if the guy got too awful bad.

I got some milk and walked out. He followed me! I sized things up and I decided retreat wasn't really an option at that time and place (I won't go into detail why, just trust me on this one). I turned, assumed the position and braced myself to take a few cuts while not feeling good about fighting this old guy.

Well, he turned and went back inside. I reported to the police what happened, and they told me that they were aware of this guy and were watching him.

Last night I did some asking around and more talking to my friend. The old guy left when I got there - it seems my display of force made an impression. (I had not seen him or I would not have stopped.)

He's been in prison for

Holding a gun on someone, years back, demanding a ride home while drunk

and other non-violent felonies.