Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,951 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

With this new five shot snub, I'm feelin' a bit undergunned. I'm used to having at least 8 rounds at my disposal, and usually at least 15 without a reload.

I either read or was related the following story:

A lady cop was off duty and in line in a convenience store when three guys held it up. Things turned ugly and she drew her five shot snubby. She hit BG#1 twice, putting him out of action, hit BG#2 twice, and he's out of action. BG#3 takes one and then her gun goes "click." BG#3 didn't appreciate being shot, and before he went down, he severely beat the lady officer, fracturing her skull.

Now, with the Taurus, I'd have no problem putting the rounds on target. I am still learning with the snub, and until I get it figured out, it's in a backup role. The capacity thing does bug me a bit though. Even with a speedloader or a speed strip, I am a lefty and it would take a bit to reload compared to my hi-cap 9mm.

So... I'll be a bit handicapped if I just carry the snub.

Any tips, tricks, and wisdom from those who have carried these things for a while? How about excercises to run through?

Thanks,

Josh <><

·
Premium Member
3,867 Posts
Hello, Josh. That is one of the downsides to the convenient-to-carry snub. The main suggestions I can give is that IF these are being carried as a primary that lots of practice be given to:

1. Accurate shooting
2. Quick ejection of hulls
3. Being as quick as possible with reloads
4. Trying to find a way out if at all possible

Much as I like and use the snub in my usual tame orbits, when practically anywhere else I have something more substantial and the J-frame is relegated to BUG status.

Best.

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Mr. Josh,

I have to agree with Mr. Steve, they are very handy, but they do have some downsides.