Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am interested as I have no real experience with corrosive ammo and I can get some cheaper than NC.

Soap and water, then re-lube? Thanks.

·
Regulator,
2,353 Posts
Howdy Herr Oberst Leutnant,

I handle the Vintage Military Rifle and Pistol matches here at our local club and we shoot a lot of corrosive surplus ammo. Our favorite procedure, that we've even written into the Match Manual, is this:

1. With the bolt removed and the rifle held vertically (downward)at the balance of the piece, squirt Windex into the chamber until it starts to run out the muzzle. Do this twice, rotating the rifle to get the Windex thoroughly around the bore's circumference.

2. Run a minimum of six Windex-soaked patches through the bore from chamber to muzzle and let the patches drop to the ground. Don't pull them back through. If you've done a great deal of shooting you might need to use eight patches. Anyway, do this until they don't get any whiter.

3. Run two or three patches through the bore in the same manner to dry it out, letting them fall to the ground also.

4. Wipe off the muzzle, front third of the bolt, and any other parts that may have firing residue on them, like folding bayonets and front sights, with a cloth saturated with the Windex. Don't forget to dry them off and lube them. The corrosive residue is now gone.

5. Clean the bore as you normally would.

DON'T make the mistake of thinking normal bore solvents and CLP's and so on will remove corrosive fouling. It usually won't and you run a very good chance of ruining your bore, i.e. eat it up in a day's time. Also, soapy water is the standard old-timey solution, but Windex carries in the range bag handily and always works .

This is how we do it on bolt action rifles and gives you the general idea, so you can adapt it to other types of arms as well.