Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Regulator,
3,441 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gents,

Let me start this thread by saying it is not about gun OR ammunition selection, but rather a interesting phenominum I have noticed amongst shooters and our own members.
What I'm talking about is our coming back, repeatedly, to one platform and/or caliber after we have trained with or carried other handguns. Sometimes for years.
As a trainer I have to know about the available platforms, how they operate, and something about calibers/ammo selection. This is what I refer to as "the good, the bad, and the ugly" of defensive handgunning. As I am asked, repeatedly, what gun or caliber is "best". While I can make recommendations only YOU can make the decision as to what caliber and handgun you will carry based on those criteria.
What I have noticed, in my own case and with others, is that no matter how many other handguns we may use there is one or two we always go back too. I've come to refer to these as my "go to" guns.
Handguns must do three things. They must fit the user, be reliable, and be chambered in a suitable defensive caliber (I'll leave that one up to you). So, if this generic prescription works and I know platform or caliber are not that big a deal WHY do I feel more "comfortable" going back to a couple handguns and specific calibers? The only reasoning I can find is that they make me feel more comfortable and it is a combination that I TRUST more than others. Those feelings are purely subjective in my case, but I listen to them.