Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
I've decided to start saving for my first pistol over the summer (I won't turn 21 until Nov, but I'm a poor college student at a not so cheap university ::) ) and I was wondering if any of you fine gents had any suggestions for a good first shootin' iron. As of right now I'm leaning towards a Browning/FN Hi Power MK III in 9mm. I figure about $500 will do it....

G

·
Discussion Starter #2
For training purposes I would go with a quality 22 target pistol. I emphasise quality, because this could be a lifetime purchase. I have the High Standard Supermatic I bought 30 years ago and still use it frequently; It will definitely outlast me. I realize that a 22 doesn't have the appeal of a centerfire pistol, but it is the gun you will be able to shoot the most, and shooting is what its all about.

G

·
Discussion Starter #3
Good point, but I had the 9mm in mind b/c it's cheap and could (arguably) double as a home defense weapon. Waco has a crime rate higher than NYC these days....

·
Registered
430 Posts
Wraith, I would suggest a quality .22 as well. You'd be surprised how much you will learn shooting a .22 over a 9mm. But even I have to admit my first handgun was a 9mm Ruger, not a .22. A 9mm Hi-Power wouldn't be a bad first choice.

The best suggestion I have is to go to a range that does rentals and rent a few guns and try out. Or find a friend with several different makes and models to try out.

If you don't mind waiting awhile, I'm planning on moving to Austin in a August. I'd be happy to meet you at a range and let you try out my range of pistols(which is arguably quite small). But this would give you an idea of what you might want in a weapon.

-Rob

G

·
Discussion Starter #5