Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last Saturday and Sunday (4 & 5 Mar) I attended the basic handgun self-defense course offered by John Farnam's Defense Training International (http://defense-training.com/). Thoroughly enjoyed it. Very useful. I was sitting down to document some things (LOTS of things) I need to work on, and thought I would make a post out of this for anyone who is interested. This might not be the most organized report, I am basically trying to get down on (digital) paper things I don't want to forget or need to work on.

Motivation:
I have been shooting for quite awhile now, since approx 1993 or so. I took a defensive handgun course with my revolver early on, and a shotgun course also, from Mike Dalton in California. Was also very worthwhile. Those focused primarily on the mechanics of shooting. When I got my CHL and started carrying regularly, I got much more interested in all the issues surrounding this - legal, administrative handling of the gun, concealed carry techniques, how to deal with the police if I was involved in an incident, tactical considerations, etc. I read as much as I could, haunted many internet sites (this one has been particularly useful), attended CHL classes, and so forth.