Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, new member.

In the next few months, I plan to purchase a new handgun. I currently own a 1911 in 45acp, and a Ruger .22 target model (5.5" Bull). I have some experience with a handgun.

I was initially looking for a 9mm pistol. A few years back, I had a Star UltraStar, but the wife and I fell on hard times and needed money. So, away it went. Then I purchased my 45 and had some work done to it.
Its as accurate as the day is long, but even the cheapest brass-cased, name brand 45 shells arent exactly "plinker-cheap". I miss the days of 9mm blasting ammo, but I want a quality pistol that could be used as a carry/defensive piece as well.

I've narrowed it down between the CZ75 and the FN/Browning HP. My brother had a FEGP9R (iirc) a few years ago, and I really liked it. I understand its the same pattern as the HP, but how is the metallurgy on these?

I've held all three, and fired the FEG. Which is the best of the three?
How about the Polymer framed CZs?

·
Registered
354 Posts
Never owned a FEG, but have heard good things of them. Between the CZ-75 & BHP my PERSONAL preference is the BHP. I've owned/own both and they are both great pistols. I prefer a dedicated single action pistol, I don't need double action capability. I have no idea what your requirements are. That's for you to decide. Good luck.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've have a CZ75B and a FN HP right now. I had a FEG PJK-9HP many moons ago and have a friend who loves his, which I shot a few months past. I truthfully have to say from my experience from buying more guns than I should have that the CZ75B is a damn good deal for the money. I've had no problems and though I'm looking to sell mine soon it's not because I don't like the gun.....it's just...well...I'm raising money to fix up my Hi-power.