Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,951 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Given: You are in a combat situation on home soil where the ranges are from "bad breath" to 200 meters.

The military has passed out early M16's to those who have shown themselves competent along with five, 20 round magazines of ball ammo and the promise of weekly resupply of the lighter ammo which will work with the twist rate.

You provide your own sidearm and ammo should you choose to do so. There will be no resupply for private firearms.

Question: What do you use the most and why?

*This question is inspired by the movie We Were Soldiers where the Sgt(?) tells Gibson that he will stick with his sidearm because he doesn't have faith in the M16, and that it feels "like a damn BB gun." I have no combat experience with M16s. I only know that when I shot an early one I got a black eye (I'm a lefty, the danged thing had no brass deflector, and a case went the wrong way when I shortened the collapsable stock and fired it "sub-gun style.") I'd like to know what the more experienced people here think. Thank you all.

<><,

Josh

·
Registered
3,359 Posts
Josh, the first thing you need to remember is that the Sgt. Major in "We were Soldiers" in real life was a WWII and Korean War Vet. He cut his combat teeth so to speak with an M-1 Garand. Prejudiced against a light .22 calibre rifle? Of Course.
Was/ is an M-16 family rifle and the .556 cartridge a good combat choice? Yes.
Is it better than anything else out there? No, but then neither is ANYTHING ELSE.
All weapons are compromises. Each of them is better, or worse in some situations or for some uses than another. That applies whether we are talking about rifles v. rifles, rifles v. handguns, or whatever.