Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hy folks,

allow me to place this topic, because as a newbie I would like to hear some comments and opinions.

When I read the question, why don't you carry a HP or a 1911, I had the feeling that some how everybody carries a HP or a 1911.

When I read a gun book, and read the technical characteristics from each gun, I understand there are not mayor differences between all guns Perhaps with some exceptions, like the Mauser P08, maybe the glocks and Heckler & Koch.

Are all the guns are HP s ans 1911 s with small modifications?

Do this modifications make the guns better? Worse? Why?
:(" title=":mad:" border="0"/>

There is none in my country that can give me a good explanation. ???

Thanks!

Andreas

·
Registered
213 Posts
With apologies to Bob Reed for posting off-subject on another thread (Why DON'T You Carry a 1911 or a BHP?), I'd like to re-post in answer to this question, and ask one. Most contemporary autos are in fact modifications of the Browning design---recoil-operated, slide w/ or w/o fixed barrel, etc., with the exception of the Ruger .22's, bolt-in-frame---but how come Browning's design is so widely copied, but the Luger never attracted much imitation?

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am not sure if you refer the Luger P08 from Germany, but as far as I could read, this was a very nice, expensive bad pistol.

Technically, it is a nice mechanism, but the pistol seems to have been very difficult to manufacture, is very sensitive to dirt, and ammunition variations.

There is a nice post in the Harting Guns encyclopedia (Spanish translation) Now retranslated by me: "It was an unpractical untrustable very nice mechanic prodigy"

So I guess this is the reason why the Luger never attracted much imitation.