Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,867 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. To go along with my '60's Colt Agent, I wound up with a 60's vintage S&W Model 10 snub a time back. A friend of mine grinned when he saw it and I knew why. It appears to be all "handle."

This revolver had little use and but one minor blemish on the rear of the frame. The hammer had been bobbed by some previous owner; he did a good job and I'm leaving it as is.

This is not the most "efficient" gun for .38 Special, but remains one I sort of like. I suspect that's because in my early years as a police officer, I saw Model 10 2" guns in many detectives' holsters.

I'd have preferred one with the round butt, but square was it or nothing in this deal so I took it. That said, most of the snubs I recall seeing toted were the square butt, usually with a grip adaptor.

Many other handguns of this size and weight are capable of delivering a more potent ballistic punch, have more shots per loading, or both, but I just like the old thing.

This one goes to the range now and again, but that's about it.

Anyone else have one or more of these revolvers?

Best.

G

·
I owned a 1969-vintage Model 10 2-inch, also with the square butt. I've always preferred the SB configuration since it gives me a bit more control for fast repeat shots than does the round butt. It was a great shooter but after a while I decided to go with a .357 3-inch. Basicially the same size overall but with some more OOMPH! In those days I didn't have the economic luxury to keep a second CCW K-frame, so the gun was traded towards the Model 13 that replaced it. :'( A shame. Wish I still had it. 2-inch K's are very nice guns.

G

·