Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,951 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ladies'n'Gents,

I asked my dad if he's already gotten his fishing license. He said "yes." I was a bit downcast so I persevered: "I was going to see if you'd get your small game license as well, a couple bucks more, so we could go hunting this coming season." Dad: "That's what I did get."

The conversation progressed: He did get his hunting and fishing combination license and when asked if I get another .22 he'll go hunting with me, he said, "Possibly." That's my dad's version of "yes, I don't want to make any promises, but most likely since I got the dang thing."

Dad's 55. What we hunt is usually relatively thick. Therefore I do not use a scope but I can see the iron sights well enough. Dad uses reading glasses when reading, on the computer, or for any close up work like soldering. Soooo.... I need suggestions fellas. I'm new at setting guns up for older folk. I'm thinking an aperture rear with a DayGlow front or a 2.5x 'scope would work well.

I'm also thinking about a red dot; that may be the ticket but the models I've seen are a bit imprecise with their 3-5 MOA dots. I don't like them anyway. Dad might. I'm very concerned about being able to head shoot squirrel with open sights at 25 meters; he may be content with doing that with something less precise.

Additionally, Mom is no longer anti-hunting. I told her that the home herd needs culled and she said she loves venison. She just doesn't want to see the deer be shot. I said no problem. The squirrel, rabbit, and deer I'll take are meats that will fit into the "healthy lifestyle" they've adopted since my dad's cancer surgery.

I will say that Dad has the Smith eye. He taught me to hunt and shoot then turned me loose.