Handguns and Ammunition Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm surprised this hasn't come up yet. Maybe it's old news.

I've yet to own a gun chambered in this round, but I'm intrigued. Have been for some time. And it's not just the velocity hound in me (though I do like a flat-shooting handgun cartridge). From what I've read, it's just plain effective. Like an almost-but-not-quite .357 magnum in a semi cartridge.

Mostly, I've read ballistics info and gel tests. What I lack is real-life insight. As I've noticed there are a number of L.E. professionals and those previously affiliated with L.E. on board, maybe some information can be gathered here.

As a civilian, I have no real experience with high-stress life-and-death situations, nor will I probably ever gain it (God willing). I can only train, gather what information I can, and hope that my preparation would not fail me should it be called into duty. That is to say, maybe I'm sneekily trying to take a peek into The Elephant. You (you know who you are) have been there and I stand in awe. But mostly, I want to know what you think, specifically about the 357SIG.

I know that a number of agencies use the SIG round and appreciate its magnum-like performance. But what about civilian personal defense? What are the issues? Is over-penetration really a concern? Is it too light and fast to effeciently transfer its energy into a target? Is it just an over-stated 9mm?

Inquiring minds want to know. I am not asking for a grizzly account of shootings, but rather insight into the round's capabilities. The interchangability with a .40S&W barrel is a plus to me (I like versatility), and the prospect of a short-barrelled carbine chambered for the fast-moving bullet seems to have very real applications to intermediate-range gunmanship.

-S

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So we're back to the old "hype" story.